SMRI Algebra and Geometry Online

External homepage

commutative algebra algebraic geometry analysis of PDEs algebraic topology differential geometry general topology geometric topology metric geometry operator algebras quantum algebra rings and algebras symplectic geometry

Sydney Mathematical Research Institute

Audience: Researchers in the topic
Seminar series times: No fixed schedule
Organizer: SMRIAdmin*
*contact for this listing

‘Representation theory of exceptional Lie superalgebras’

Shun-Jen Cheng (Institute of Mathematics, Academia Sinica and National Taiwan University)

Thursday 6th May 3:30pm - 5:00pm (AEST)

(Other time zones: Thur 6:30am BST / Thur 7:30am CEST / Wed 10:30pm PDT / Thur 1:30am EDT / Thur 1:30pm CST (China))

Online via Zoom

In the first half of the talk we shall introduce the notion of Lie superalgebras, and then give a quick outline of the classification of finite-dimensional complex simple Lie superalgebras. In the second part of the talk we shall discuss the representation theory of these Lie superalgebras and explain the irreducible character problem in the BGG category. Our main focus will be on our computation of the irreducible characters for two of the exceptional Lie superalgebras. This part is based on recent joint works with C.-W. Chen, L. Li, and W. Wang.

Note: This seminar will be recorded (participants only when asking questions) and uploaded to the SMRI YouTube Channel www.youtube.com/c/SydneyMathematicalResearchInstituteSMRI

Upcoming talks
Past talks
Export series to